Let’s Talk About our Future

 

Written by: Emily Guterres; Edited by: Shanice Atkins-Broome

Have you ever been afraid of pursuing your passion because of what others think?

My dad is an accountant. He’s always tried to convince me to enter a field where there is a lot of calculations and pays well. Mind you, me and numbers have never got along. Only this year I’m trying to understand numbers because of my keen interest in media analysis.

You can become a lawyer to make your parents happy, your sister happy and hey, maybe even yourself. But at the end of the day, you know what’s best for you. You know what you like and you’re the only one who truly has the answer.

Over the summer, I was mulling over my program thinking I had to do things that will make me ‘attractive’ to employers in order to brand myself and my future.

But then I thought: people love people who are passionate about what they do.

You know what interests me? Publicity, Education, Health, Sports Marketing, Branding with Entrepreneurship, Customer Service & Event Planning.  And here I am trying to figure out what realm should I specialize in. I try to remind myself that I’m still young and I wont have all the answers today or tomorrow.

As Jeffrey Remedios expresses, “Do what you love, do what you’re passionate about and the economy will follow.”

Especially in today’s society, people pick and choose who they like when it’s beneficial to them. You will have people who don’t believe in your ideas, who don’t want to be on your team and even shut you down. Being a young woman living in Ottawa having many ideas towards making changes on a big scale, I often feel shut down by most. But then I come across certain people who genuinely support you and wholeheartedly believe in you. These are the type of people that will help you strive towards your goals and be your biggest cheerleaders throughout your journey.

Even after telling me to “go where the money is”, my father always dropped some inspiring gems whether I liked to hear it or not. He shared with me, “I finished with a psychology degree not knowing what I wanted to do with my life. My dad put me in business school, and from there things kind of fell into place.”

What he always tells me is “he still doesn’t know what he wants to do with his life.”

So I ask myself Why should I? I’m a young ambitious 20-year-old, who is excited to step foot into the work field. Whatever opportunities come my way I will gladly accept and learn from the experiences. Who knows, I may end up doing something completely opposite from what I desired years ago.

We all mature at different times and figure life out at different times.

Heck, I still have a hell of a lot to learn.

 

Leave a Reply

